Call (888) 338-0183 or click here for solar pricing

Department of Energy provides funding for America’s top solar cities

Today, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary Samuel W. Bodman made a public announcement that the DOE will be funding 2.4 million dollars to 12 cities across the country. These Solar America cities have been chosen for their commitment to the deployment of solar technologies. Cities selected as Solar America Cities will receive 0,000 (doesn’t sound like much, but it’s better than nothing) to implement a variety of solar technologies throughout the cities. The funded cities include:

  1. Denver, CO
  2. Houston, TX
  3. Knoxville, TN
  4. Milwaukee, WI
  5. Minneapolis & St. Paul, MN
  6. Orlando, FL
  7. Philadelphia, PA
  8. Sacramento, CA
  9. San Antonio, TX
  10. San Jose, CA
  11. Santa Rosa, CA
  12. Seattle, WA

In addition to the funding the DOE will provide technical assistance to the cities for them to implement solar technologies. The cities will be free to implement various renewable energy technologies from solar water heating, photovoltaics to concentrating solar power.

Author: Deep Patel

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: